Daydreams & Nightmares

Instruments – Piano, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Bass Guitar, Drums, Trap Beat and a violin.

I stay up late at night, trying to avoid nightmares,
But what can I do when I'm, living them during the day...

I was told son, you ain’t gonna, make it anywhere!
Life ain’t fiction, so get real, made me feel, scared,

I was told, son,

Wake up in the morning at 5,

If you wanna have a good life,

Marry a beautiful wife,

Well, then you gotta strive,

To work harder,

Put in those hours,

They say the biggest rocks in our path can’t stop us.

Screw your heart and take the safe route,

It don’t matter what you’re about,

The clock is tickin’, and you ain’t gettin’ any younger so you ain’t got time to figure yourself out, yeah,

The competition is rough,

And no, you’re not good enough,

I know life isn’t fair, but stop whining about it cause the tough get going when the going gets tough, so,

Quit sittin’ around,

Burn that midnight oil,

To make it big,

Yeah, you gotta toil.

You keep tellin’ me,

Go chase your dreams,

But are they mine really?!

See the irony!

Son, you ain’t gonna, make it anywhere!

Life ain’t fiction, so get real, made me feel scared,

I was told son, “A broken heart can be repaired.”

Do I see Daydreams or Nightmares?

Still covering the agony with a fake facade,

I sing, I laugh & I play some songs,

But the darkness eventually comes across,

Cause it had been there all along,

So I follow the crowd and play my part,

Crushing down, breaking my own heart.

The darkness with its almighty power,

Drenches my soul hour by hour.

I find myself alone contemplating, am I thinking too hard?

But if I choose to let it go, it would still tear me apart!

And I know it’s never too late to start,

But how do I swim outta this circle of sharks?!

I believe I’ve got the talent, yeah, I’ve got the voice,

But you say its not music, it’s just noise,

Every time I try to rise, you pull me down,

Say I cant make it just cause I’m brown,

Felt the darkness creepin’ on my skin,

Made breathing and choking seem akin, ahh,

Instead of being so negative, about my melanin,

You could’ve been supportive, given me an adrenaline,

Rush, or a push,

But instead, you tried to shut me up,

And said shushhh…..,

Son, you ain’t gonna, make it anywhere!

Life ain’t fiction, so get real, made me feel scared,

I was told son, “A broken heart can be repaired.”

Do I see Daydreams or Nightmares?

I was told son, “A broken heart can be repaired.”

Do I see Daydreams or Nightmares?

So I say fuck the racism,

Screw the criticism,

Cause you got the rhythm,

That can cause a cataclysm.

You’re a human, not a computer algorithm,

That can be programmed, no you got your own vision, yeah,

You don’t need to hear any haters’ opinions,

It’s time for you to speak and the whole world to listen,

Towards the light, you’ll rise, not just make an illusion,

For you the limit is the sky, there’s no oblivion,

You make your own rules don’t give a fuck about the system,

Don’t be afraid of any nepotism.

Everything that’s real today once was just fiction,

Think twice before you accuse him of plagiarism,

Cause these words come straight from his heart,

His songs for me are a work of art,

And I don’t need to hear any old farts,

Condescend him before they depart.

Ayy,

Feel it in your veins and feel it in your heart, yeah!

Feel it in your brain, don’t let them tear your dreams apart!

You can see it through, you just gotta start,

It’s high time you ignited the spark!

If life is a turtle race, you can’t be a dumb rabbit,

Throwin’ it all away, chasin’ some pretty carrots,

Grab your senses together, keep them united,

Be focused towards your aim, no, don’t get distracted,

Even if you see something shinin’, no, don’t need to grab it,

Cause everything that glitters is not gold, it could be a trap damn it!

Get that winning attitude, make winning your habit,

Seeing you fall lower than you could reach, no, I won’t have it.

Don’t wanna see you doubting yourself, dagnabbit!

The ring isn’t that far high, just jump up and slam it,

If you got someone blocking your way, then you just gotta fade,

Back & shoot, like Kobe swoosh, into the basket!

This is what I wish you’d said to me instead,

Of fucking my life and screwing with my head!

But it doesn’t really matter now, man does it?

I would’ve really loved your help but fuck it! Ahh,

I’m gonna go high into the atmosphere,

Gonna break through the exosphere,

Without escape velocity, defying gravity,

No matter how hard you try, for you, I’ll be out of reach!

So I begin writing these lines as I fall from grace,

Down to this place, makin’ the world my stage.

True talent doesn’t see gender, race or age,

I know, now, I’m filled with rage, So,

What I can’t explain through speech I hope these lines would convey, yo!

A broken heart can be repaired.

Do I see Daydreams or Nightmares?

Hear me screaming, yet you stand right there,

Everybody sees me, but no one cares,

I wanna be free & fly away

Are these Daydreams, or Nightmares? (Daydreams and Nightmares)

The pain seems prominent,

And I’ve succumbed into it,

The teardrops on my synth,

Tell a story describing this.

Every day I see the mirror,

And tell myself it’ll be fine,

The happy moments, I’ll savour,

And hope everything just falls in line.

The pain seemed prominent, yeah,

And I had succumbed into it, oh,

The teardrops on my synth,

Have now turned into mist.

I wish you were there,

In my corner, rooting for me,

Held me after a nightmare,

Told me to live my dream.

I see Daydreams and Nightmares.

-EPSILON NAUGHT

Capo – 2nd Fret

Chords – F C G Am

Follow Me on Instagram –

@daydreamsnnightmares

Also, check out my blog with Alaia Kentucky-

Alaia Kentucky & Epsilon Naught, a.k.a.- the bloggzzbotts, a.k.a.- 2 sides of a coin

Leave a comment